Need advice on blender+panda

Hi (newbie here :blush: )

I’ve choosen blender to create my models to use in panda. I would thank blender+panda users on this forum if they gave me some advice on the best ways of exporting .blender to .egg and more important stuff I should know before I learn it the hard way.

Blender 2.4.2
Panda 1.3.2

The two ways of export I’m testing are:

• exporting to .x and x2egg
  • chicken 1.0c python script

THANKS

the chicken exporter is quite fine =) so if you dont have special need for x files you’r ok with “chicken’s eggs”

a few thing you should whatch out for are:
–>textures per mesh are limited (depends on the graficcard (between 1 and 128(on next-gen graficcards) usualy between 4 and 16)
so if you use more textures try to seperate the objects in blender (select the parts in editmode and press “p”. you can still export the several single parts as one model).
–>assign textures with the uv editor and leave the material settings empty (form my experience it’s simple and good)
–>dont reparent armatures(skeleton witih bones) to meshes or the other way round. use the modifiers instead. if you dont do your animation will be messed up

well this is what i figured out =) hope it helps.

Thanks for quick help :smiley:
I’ll use chicken as it’s easier too.

I have a couple of questions though,

• I lost subsurfing in the exporting process, is this normal ? There is some way to get the cool rounded faces in the .egg file?

• To make things error-safe I’ll keep 1 texture per object but most of the time I won’t need a whole image texture but just a coloured material. Here the exporting doesn’t seem to work because in pview my model results colourless white. I think you can make textures that are just colours, so this would work, do you colour things this way?

In Blender, select your model and press Alt-C. This converts the subsurfed model into a mesh. If you export your model now, you get all the faces you see in the view.