Multitexturing, Maya... questions

I’m not experienced with either of these topics, so I thought it best to clear up some things here…

1. I was looking at the Advanced Texturing section of the Converting from Maya manual page (http://panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Converting_from_Maya). This section describes how to add multiple textures to a surface. When this procedure is done on a model, and I load the model in Panda, how does Panda choose which blending mode is appropriate for which texture stage? Is this data passed on from Maya to Panda, or automatically deduced in Panda, or do I have to set this manually? If I export a model with a normal map and a regular color texture, am I assured that Panda will know how to blend these properly if I load the model?

2. Does Maya have a way of specifying the order in which the texture stages are applied, and is this carried over to Panda?

3. If I apply multiple textures in Maya, and I want to access one particular texture later on, how do I retrieve its texture stage?

4. The Multiple Texture Coordinate Sets page of the Panda manual (http://panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Multiple_Texture_Coordinate_Sets) says that you can specify multiple UV sets in Maya… how do you retrieve these sets later on so you can name them and pass them to a texture stage?

5. The Converting from Maya manual page says that I have to apply a Phong shader material to the Maya model in order for multitexturing to work properly in Panda. Does this mean that my Panda application will require graphics cards with shader support to run properly if I export from Maya? If I set this textures manually in Panda, will I still require shader support for multitexturing?