Multiple cameras around a central point

Hello Panda community,

I am new to Panda and am close to giving up experimenting, so maybe somebody could help me…

I need to virtually render x-number of cameras side by side, so that a panoramic view is formed all the way around a central point.

I will then need to render a second image, by taking the panoramic image and putting it through a virtual angular amplification mirror (so that it emerges as a kind of doughnut). In case you are wandering, this will eventually be projected onto the same type of mirror in real life to simulate virtual reality.

I am not sure whether the second task can be done using panda, but I suppose if I could extract the pixel distribution of the panoramic image from the first task I could possibly use another program to change it the way I need to. However, if it can be done, any help would be appreciated…!

Thank you for your help.
I am using Panda3D SDK 1.7.2 and I’ve been playing around with the 3D grass environment from the Panda tutorial.

Best Wishes,
Pawel

Sure, we do this sort of thing all the time. You want to render your first set of images onto offscreen buffers, and then apply the resulting images as textures onto a mesh that you construct of the appropriate shape for the output window.

There is plenty of information about offscreen rendering in the manual, the samples, and the forums.

David

Thank you David.

I actually had no idea where to begin for the second task so now I can search for the appropriate tools that you mentioned.

However, I am currently still stuck on actually getting the 360degrees panoramic view in the first place…any ideas? (I’ve actually seen your replies for other messages on this but I haven’t been able to use your code to achieve it…)

BW,
Pawel