Multipe Render Targets

Hi all!

I’m new around here, and I’m also new to Panda3D. In the short I’ve been using this engine, I must say I’m quite impressed.

I was wondering if it’s possible to have multiple render targets in Panda3D. I’ve read the manual’s filter manager section, but that is just one part of what I’m looking for.

What I need to do is to return different colors, from a fragment shader, to different buffers. Right now my fragment shader returns a color using the variable o_color, so I was wondering if o_color1, o_color2…o_colorn (where n is the maximum number of MRT’s the video card supports) exist in Panda3D.

The effect I’m trying to achieve is the “accumulation of a mask”. That is modifying a texture that is being passed to the fragment, and that in some way the texture retains its value the next time it is passed as parameter to the same fragment shader.

Thank you very much,
Pedro

Yes, this is very well possible in Panda. It just means you need to attach a render target to RTPAuxRgba0, RTPAuxRgba1, etc., and have an output (o_anything) in your pixel shader bound to semantic COLOR1, COLOR2, etc.

The Fireflies sample program is a fine example of MRT - take a look at it.

Thanks for the answer!

I’ve been playing around with off-screen buffers by looking at the fireflies example as pro-rsoft suggested.

I’m creating the buffer by calling base.graphicsEngine.makeOutput. Then I’m adding a render texture to the buffer in RTPAuxRgba0.

Aftewards, in the fragment shader, I’m declaring “out float4 o_maskColor : COLOR1”, and returning “o_maskColor = float4(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);”

I’m using the buffer viewer and I can see that the render target apparently has been created, since I can see how calls to setClearColorActive() affect one of the buffers being displayed. What I can’t figure out is why “o_maskColor = float4(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);” in my fshader, is not affecting the buffer in question.

What can I be doing wrong?