Modeling in Blender

First… my background. I am an experienced Python programmer, moderately experienced with Blender and brand new to Panda3D.

I am trying to create a landscape in Blender that I can use in Panda. The ground is a mesh plane, subdivided several times, colored, textured and edited to give it some character. For the sky, I created a mesh sphere, deleted the bottom half and put a JPG image on the inside as a texture, after flipping the normals. In Blender, it all looks good and renders very well.

When I finally found a .X exporter that handles JPG textures, I exported it and used x2egg to make it ready for Panda. However, when I load it into Panda, the sky texture doesn’t look right and appears to be on the outside of the sky sphere. When I move the camera to the inside, it is flat gray.

Any help resolving this would be greatly appreciated. Alternatively, other methods of getting the same results would be welcome. I am using a JPG texture on the sky because, in the final version of the program, I need to be able to place “landmarks” that appear to be way out at the horizon and unapproachable by any “actors”.

As I understand it, this would probably be lots easier if the Scene Editor were working.

Thanks for any help.

Have you changed faces normals in blender? In Mesh Tools 1 you can turn “draw normals” option.
Other thing is setFar: base.camLens.setFar(10000) should incrase drawing distance, you sky can simply be beyond it. I think setFar has some upper limit anyway, but I’m not sure. Mine micro sky about 10m radius hemisphere with inside jpg texture worked fine. Exported with drWiggly’s exporter.