MMORPG....... I know, be gentle

Hello all, First let me say hello, I am just learning panda and python.
I am not new to programming, as I have developed games in VB, c+, even PHP and mysql. so Don’t give me the usual responses like “learn to code first”. I plan on learning what ever engine i choose, in this case it will most likely be Panda and python.
I am looking to create a MMORPG, maybe a MORPG first, I dont know yet.
It doesnt have to be the prettiest thing out there, and I am doing this for learning and enjoyment as much as anything. If it ever gets finalized, so be it, Ill release it to the world.
I really would like to create a expanding world that players could help it grow and expand. So im looking to take more of a design a game that can help write itself in the end. sort of a Spore concept but not nearly as ambitious.
so on to my questions.
first, will this version of panda handle what I want it to handle. I know that MMORPGs have been developed using this engine, but I dont know how much of those features panda currently can manage, and how much was developed in house.
second, would it be better to use panda to handle client side, and try to use something like Darkstar to run the server side. if this is even possible, I don’t know yet.

again I am not a 13 year old kid trying to make my MMO of my dreams, I think there are allot of possibilities with a MMO that havent been developed yet.