Message handles

Im sry to ask what seems like such a noob question, but im fairly new to panda, and need help with event handlers. Ive gone through all the tutorials, searched the manual, but i always end up creating some sort of error. Im confused way beyond question. Plz help me!

What do you need to know?

I usually end up with a syntax error or an error than resembles :

Name error: (whatever) is not a global name

I know this is bad etiquette, but could i get a snippet of code containing a handler? From there i might be able to sort it out myself.

Thx

It looks like you’re calling a local var/function the way you call a global variable/function.
Please show your code. Note to always use self.varname for local variable names.

Yeah. Look inside the samples subdirectory of the Panda3D installation dir.

When Python (not Panda3D!) works through the code and tries to find the right variables/methods/whatever it first looks in the local namespace of a method, then the global namespace. If neither has such a name then it raises the error you get.

Look at this example:

y = 123 # defined in global namespace

def test( ):
    x = 456 # defined in local namespace
    print x
    print y
    print z

test( )

When printing “x” Python finds this variable in the local namespace. “x” is defined one line above. When printing “y” Python doesn’t find “y” in the local namespace. So it looks in the global namespace, where it is defined (in the first line). Finally, when printing “z” Python finds this name neighter in the local namespace nor in the global namespace. So it gives you the following error message:

NameError: global name 'z' is not defined

This means for you: look at your code. “whatever” is not defined. Perhaps you mixed upper-case/lower-case? Python is case-sensitive. Or you misspelled the variable “whatever”?
enn0x

This is what i have. Its my first attempt at movement, so its probably nowhere near a good implementation. Lemme know if you find anything.