making a game-from-scratch tutorial.... help request

I’d like to make a series of tutorials that take the reader from nothing to a complete game. The software would be Blender, Gimp, and Panda3d. I’d like to use a wikibook format so that readers can insert questions write at a paragraph/step that confused them and others could write in a solution. That way the book could mature as oversights are spotted.

I’m relatively new to Panda3d and Python programming but I’d still like to think I can help organize this project. The more that join the project the better.

When I initially thought of this, I was watching someone play a basketball video game and was thinking, that should be relatively easy. The terrain is flat. The terrain is small. There are only a few models. The AI might be difficult. I don’t know if flocking, seeking, and such would work or use some kind of zone defense approach or a combination I guess.

But now I’m thinking, start with a really simple game. Arcade style. I prefer going from simple to complex.

So maybe a series of wikibooks. One wikibook per game.

But I definitely need help to make this more than a pipedream.

Sounds like an excellent idea. Why not start up a wikibook-like thing somewhere on a distant wiki and just starting on it, and letting the entire community help by enabling everyone to add pieces? When it’s done, we might even think about putting it on wikibooks.

Sounds like a good idea. One things with snippets and tutorials on Panda3D features is that is doesn’t cover the bigger picture on making the pieces fit together. Maybe you should consider requesting space on the panda project area, which is running a wiki.

That site is here: www.P3dp.com (doesn’t appear to be up this morning)

And I would likely help out. I’m still figuring things out in Panda3D, though.

Cheers,
Christian

I’d also like to make a series of complete tutorials. I wasn’t planning on basketball though.