Inverse Projection and Depth Buffer

Hi,
I am new to Panda3D and I would like to get some help solving an issue I am struggling to solve on my own.
I am writing a script that does the following:
a. Uploading a textured model (“model”) and a rendered image of the model from an unknown point of view (“refIm”)
b. Setting up camera at specific position and orientation in the world.
c. Renders a frame (“rendIm”) from the camera’s point of view
In my project I am trying to find the position and the orientation of the camera that took the reference image (“refIm”). As part of this effort , I would like to get the location in world of specific pixels that are projected to redIm from Model.

Can someone tell me what is the right way (simple) to do it using the Panda3D engine?

To start with, as I recall, pixels in an image correspond to not one point, but to a line, that line being the line that connects the relevant point on the camera’s near-plane with its counterpart in the camera’s far-plane. To explain, look at an arbitrary point on an object in your environment. Now imagine a ray starting at your eye and passing through that point. Any point intersected by that ray would appear to be at the same 2D point in your vision (presuming that the system stayed exactly still, of course). To find a single world-space coordinate, you would want to additionally know the depth of the pixel, I believe.

The “extrude” method of the “Lens” class should give you the line that corresponds to a given pixel–don’t use “extrudeVec”, however, as I believe that this is used for other purposes. You should be able to get the lens from the camera via Camera’s “getLens” method.

As to the depth of the pixel, you should be able to render out your depth-map, which, with a little maths, should give you the relevant depth along the line–perhaps with some margin of error.

Hi,