Imposing a grid on 3D terrain

I’m fairly new to 3D programming and am looking into using Panda3D for my first “major” game project, which will be an RPG using grid-based movement on 3D terrain. In order for this to work I’m going to need a method to impose a grid onto a terrain mesh and highlight individual squares according to various conditions and am unsure of how to proceed with that. Could anyone give me an idea as to what techniques would be best for this and possibly point me to the relevant bits of documentation?

I’ve fiddled with this on two very unfinished projects. I’m at work so I can’t write up details, here is some old code I did for a city simulator: bazaar.launchpad.net/~croxis/+ju … ronment.py In short I had two different textures for the grid lines and the tiles. The grid was a black square outline with thransparency. Is was scaled down and repeated for the grid. Thecell colors was just a simple image where each pixle was a grid cell.

Note: there are probably better ways to go about doing this with shaders.

I wasn’t able to get your game to run. Do you have any screenshots or video of it in action so that I can see if your techniques would work for what I have in mind?

Here are some screenshots:

Using textures is good, but another method that might be interesting to experiment with is to instanceTo the terrain mesh to another node (so that it gets updates), enable wireframe rendering on it, and use a depth offset (or a Z offset) to make it always render on top. Perhaps you could combine this with small texture with setBorderColor and texture transforms to make a square highlight.

However, terrain meshes are built out of triangles, so there’ll unfortunately be a cross-line. It would not be difficult to make a script that renders your terrain mesh out of line segments, however.