How to implement roads/lanes

Hello,

I’m still learning panda3d while trying to build my first application with it.
My goal is to display (only display; any computation logic takes place outside of panda3d) lanes based on given boundary coordinates of two lines.
My problem is that I don’t know, where to start with that. I was reading the documentation for days now but it is quite a lot to take in.
I would be very thankful if anyone had some tips to start with, even if it’s just some pages of the documentation I should focus on and some short hints.

Hmm…

Well, how far have you gotten thus far?

If you’re still working on the basics of Panda3D, and haven’t done so already, you might go through the manual’s “hello world” tutorial–that should give you a decent start, I think.

The “hello world” tutorial should be available at this link.

If (or once) you’re relatively comfortable with the basics, then I might suggest looking at MeshDrawer as a potential means to draw your lanes–roughly speaking, it provides the means to generate some simple procedural geometry.

You should find information on that at this link.

Well, my application already contains different objects, so I would say that I already have learnt some basics but concerning geometry stuff there is still a lot to learn for me!

I already looked into MeshDrawer a bit but wasn’t sure if it can solve my problem. Thank you a lot! :slight_smile:

Ah, my apologies–I thought that I recognised your user-name, but assumed that it was simply a similar one based on your first post in this thread. Sorry about that! ^^;

As to MeshDrawer… well, whether it’s suitable or not depends somewhat on the specifics of what you’re trying to do. For example, what do you want your lanes to look like? And what are the “boundary coordinates” of your lines?

You say that you’ve looked into MeshDrawer before, but weren’t sure of whether it could solve your problem–what was it that you wanted that MeshDrawer didn’t seem to do?