How do YOU do graphics?

Kind of just curious about how people do their graphics. By this I mean modeling schemes, animation, etc. for implementing into their Panda3D game (or whatever you do with panda). This may seem strange, but I’m actually VERY curious about how other people do it before I go any farther with what I’m doing. Of course, I’m learning more as we speak, and will be stealing (yes, stealing) your ideas.

One last thing, this isn’t a “how do I use Maya?” question. It’s more of a, “how do you use Maya (or any other tools you use) WITH PANDA.”

:wink:

Well, I’m just beginning myself, but I’ve figured a good deal of stuff out.

For one thing, I’ve learned that to use 3D models in Panda3D, they have to be converted to egg files. That’s why I use Blender as my 3D modeling program and use the Chicken exporter (Chicken lays eggs, get it?). A discussion about Chicken is on this forum. But if you’re using Maya you’ll need to find a .maya -> .egg exporter to use the files in your games.

i just tell my art slaves to do it…
programmers should never do art but find some one who can

Dont listen to Treeform he’s just miffed someone can draw better than him :slight_smile:

Seriously I think most here use Blender because few can afford the pricey Maya program ,but if you can then your in luck because there is a specific plugin for Maya and since its the choice of panda developers its probably a good thing:

panda3d.org/manual/index.php/C … e_Exporter < at start of page shows the command line usage way, and down toward the end is the GUI way of doing it which, and as directions note you drag and drop onto MAYA from Panda plugin directory.

This page will get you started and once you start making amazing content Im sure you wont have any trouble finding new team members :wink:

Those whom have maya will probably chime in with more help , but there you go as a starting point.

cheers
nl

So, now you’re using Maya, and not Blender or 3DMax ?