Horror Room - (First Panda 3d Program)

Hello,
I am new to Panda3d, but not to game development I have been involved in this area for 5 years. I have used many different engines and made a fair share of my own games… I came upon Panda3d and thought I’d give it a try. So this is a Small WIP Demo, to help me learn more about the engine.

What I have so far…

1. A fully working Menu
  2. Fully animated monsters, A method capable of adding as many as I want
  3. A WASD and FPS camera look
  4. The Room

Gameplay:
The screenshot is of level 1, the room is well lit and the monster is easy to kill. This is basically a learning level. Level 2+++ The room is very dark you may only see with your flashlight (Already Implemented), and the number of monsters increases accordingly… What do you think of the Game?

What I need help with…
Bullets/Collisions: With the previous engines that I have used, the method I used was to shoot a ray, check the hit object then spawn the appropriate bullet hole/Blood spot at the correct position and normal…
I would like to do it this way with Panda as well, however I am having difficulty… I can set the ray’s origin point just fine by checking it against the gun’s. SO (Finally) I can get the guns HPR, but the ray wants a vector for the direction??

Thanks a lot!

You can call rayNode.getRelativeVector(gunNode, Vec3(0, 1, 0)) to return the (0, 1, 0) vector–the forward vector–of the gun, expressed in the ray’s coordinate space.

But it’s probably easier to create a fixed ray at point (0, 0, 0) with direction (0, 1, 0), and simply parent that ray to the gun. That way, the ray inherits the position and orientation of the gun, so that a forward-pointing ray really points whichever way the gun is pointing.

Panda’s sophisticated scene graph system allows for many simple shortcuts like this. As you grow more experienced with Panda, you will more readily see how you can use the scene graph to make your life easier. :slight_smile:

David