hi, im new here and have few question :)

hi

first of all:i’m a newbie (yes, sadly)

second of all, i didn’t know about panda3D since 5 minutes. and it look like a very good game engine :slight_smile:

i know there’s maybe a feature list, but can i ask if a few thing are in this engine ?
(i’m new to the python programming language btw,)
so i’m gonna start whit a list of dummie-newbie-question list if you want :slight_smile:

-is the python language has the same power than c++?, will be awesome, very simple of use!
-is there’s a sound plugin in panda3D? i check the feature list and it dosen’t have any sound plugin (like OpenAL) displayed.
-can i remplace ODE by Bullet physic (this library was used to create many movie and commercial game, more is powerfull, more is awesome :wink: )
-can the ogre3D Rendering engine can be incorporated with this game engine? (will be awesomly nice! ^^)
-what kind of game can we make with this SDK? (fps/tps/race/rts/HORROR(XD)/ect.)
-and last and a little bit personal question: is this game engine has been approved, is there’s a commercial game who use it? and use the python language?

so, truly dummie question hun?? ^^
i’m just wondering about these, because i was sherching for an open source engine for SOOOOOO long!!

well, dunno how to end this post…

thanks in advice for responding :slight_smile:

thanks, friendly, pengasius :slight_smile:

Hi, welcome to panda3d

dont be sorry to be new. we all went trough that stage once so dont be afraid to ask.

not really. it has all features you’d expect from a game engine + a lot more. it’d be a very long list if we’d list it all. if you need a specific feature feel free to ask if it’s already implemented.

power can refer to a lot of things. including prototyping speed, robustness, ease of use, execution speed.
in panda’s case it makes no real difference if you use python or c++. the engine itself is c++ and python only controlls that code. so it’s easy to use, yet very fast.