Hi i'm new [features query]

Hello,

Since this is my fist post here I thought I should introduce myself. I am an (almost :smiley:) 22yr old Architecture student from Romania. I am mainly a 3d artist (been at it since 'bout 2003 and worked as a modeling/texturing artist before I could afford the Arch. college), and in the past 3 yrs or so I’ve also started programing.

I’ve stumbled across Panda3d on DevMaster looking for a solution to quickly get me up and programing my projects. I previously worked on setting up my own framework and pipeline using render/physics/sound/etc libs on the net (at one time even tackled writing my own direct x renderer) but i ended spending way more time on writting tools and on the game engine than on working on the game projects themselves.

I’ve tryed to get a clear picture of the engine’s feature list from the features overview page and the manual (btw thanks gogg for pointing that one out :smiley:) but I’m still fuzzy on some features that I would need. I am going to list them, I am curious if they are supported/planned for the future/some one tackled them in personal projects.

-occlusion culling
-paging/streaming terrain/geometry
-coordinates accuracy for large worlds
-1.7’s instancing available for static props(not only animated)
-deferred shading
-decals
-asynchronous resource loading
-integrating bullet physics
-using the python wrapper for game scripts (aka loading python scripts in an c++ game)

Best,

Paul

What I do know is in panda from reading the manual:

-decals
-asynchronous resource loading

Paging terrain is not in the engine, but there is a blueprint in Launchpad for it. This is something I am also interested in and considering learning C++ by implementing it.

You may also wish to consider switching the c++/python relationship. Make your c++ code as python modules and then use python to glue the whole thing together.