Hi detail Terrain Texturing

I’m new to Panda; I want to get high detail textures on terrain.

What is the best image resolution, image size, file format etc. (or whatever) to use in order
to get the highest possible terrain texture from p3d 1.8.1(stock without rewriting the engine features).
I’ve seen example of toon quality textures on terrain, but can stock Panda do/manage hi-res detail
terrain texturing ? If so, where can I look for info. on implementing this.
Thanks for your help.

Why yes: Terrain rev. 3

The best technique for you to use will depend on what your needs are for your project. One technique is called texture splatting – searching here and on google will give some awesome details and examples.

In short: Information from your terrain, such as height and slope, plus tiled terrain textures, are sent into a shader. The shader will then determine which texture will be used for that pixel on the screen.

Eric Brunetons did the baseline work on that stuff.
That’s NOT Panda 3D, That’s from Proland Or a modded version. (proland.inrialpes.fr/)

I’ve already looked at that very outdated source for this stuff.

Don’t get me wrong, it looks like an attempt was made to do that in Panda 3D
But it dident work, for whatever reasons.

Thats why there’s no REAL resource that you can download that works.
You would haft to re-wite the entire panda engine to get a 30fps with that quality.

Proland has nice water also…

That’s all done in native OpenGL.

NO WAY IS THIS IMPLEMENTED IN PANDA.
NO WAY ! I Know it’s not !

If they claim that, and you believe it. well,
I Know it’s not. It’s proland. Or some type OpenGL MOD.

I’ve worked with it for years.

There’s allot of nice pretty pictures everywhere.
Don’t believe everything you see !

:smiley:

It was based on Eric Brunetons work, but it was implemented in Panda3D all right.

Why do you think that it would not be possible to do in Panda3D? In the end, Panda3D is just a more friendly wrapper around OpenGL.