help with key events

hey can someone give me a tut on how keyevets work ?

key events are covered in both, the manual and several samples which come with your panda installation. for example the roamingRalp sample, solar system, asteroid, infinite tunnel, etc. they all use keyboard input.
have a look at them :slight_smile:

see they use

self.accept("escape", sys.exit)

but i’m new to python and panda 3d and everything and i just trying to get my model to move but is there a tut that tells me how it works ? or is it just the samlpes ?

First learn python, then panda.

What you did not understand? There are lots of samples showing you how it works. In short:

Node.accept(‘key’, function)

1.) Attach the .accept() to a node(better not to the render or base nodes). It’s useful later. Example: w.accept(‘key’, func)

2.) Write down the key you need to be attached to a function. It’s not case sensitive! you can use -pressed and -released. Example: w.accept(‘p-pressed’, func)

3.) Put the function that will be called after pressing the key. Example: w.accept(‘p-pressed’, move)

4.) If the function does not exist, create it! Example:

def move():
     teapot.setPos(teapot.getX()+1, teapot.getY()+2, 0)

–Your Mešča with love 8)

An addition to that: in MentalDisaster’s post, ‘w’ and ‘Node’ are instances of the DirectObject class. Many people make their class inherit from DirectObject so they can use self.accept - but this is not a necessity.
Note that ShowBase (the ‘base’ variable) is also a DirectObject so you can also use base.accept().