Hello, a newbie introducing himself

Hi panda3D community

I am new to this engine, but so far, it is working really well for me. I got all the tutorials done without to much of a problem. I have been using Reality Factory for some time, but i wanted to broden my horizons a bit. this is the first time i have ever used python, C++ is a whole lot easier, but im still having fun learning python. I wanted to ask, what modleing programs are compatible with this program. And, from what ive seen, alot of the games made with panda are educational games, or younger persons games. Is it possible to make a more indepth game? What my goal really is is to make a WWII combat flight simulator. Is this possible with this progam?

Anyhoo, im happy to be here!

Welcome to the community, Ryan!

About your question, Blender3D is a free, powerful and compatible 3d modeler. It has a great and actively maintained exporter for Panda3D: Chicken.

And making a flight simulator in Panda3D is very good possible. Take a look in the showcase here, some others have also posted some screenshots about flight simulators.

If you already have a favorite modeling program, see if it can export to Direct3D (.x) files. Pnada3D can not only read his own Format (.egg) but also the Direct3D format.

As for the WW2 Combat flight sim… it’s possible.
You can even make it look pretty good if you know how to use/write CG shaders.

Many of us already attempted to write flight sims (including me), so there’ll be enough informations on this forum to get you started and help you with some basic problems like:

-how to rotate the camera/model correctly in 3D space
-implementing a Radar
-network support
-collision detection
-skyBoxes
and in your case (since you’re making a WW2 flight sim, not a space shooter)
-terrain generation