GPU powered particles

This is something I’ve been working on for the last 3 months or so, I got the proof of concept version up in a few days, but then things kind of kept on exploding in my face… anyway it is almost ready, or at least ready enough to be show.

tl;dr version:
git here: github.com/wezu/p3d_gpu_particle

You use the editor to make some effects, save it to a file, then import wfx and do:

particle=Wfx()
particle.load("default.wfx")
particle.start() 

You can link effects to moving emitters, set a global force or per emitter forces, turn the effects on and off (per emitter), or pause the whole system

smiley=loader.loadModel('smiley')
smiley.reparentTo(render)
#link emitter to node
particle.set_emitter_node(emitter_id=3, node=smiley)
#set emitter force
particle.set_emitter_force(emitter_id=1, Vec3(0.5, 0, 0))
#set global force
particle.set_global_force(Vec3(0,0,-1))

Editor screenshot:

The Long version

The system uses 3 floating point texture buffers, that are ‘rotated’ in a way similar to triple buffering. The first buffer has the position of the particles two frames back, the second one has the position last frame, and the third one is the one we render to in the current frame, then in the next frame the first buffer will be the one we render to and buffer two and three will have the position in the last frames. This way I don’t need to store the particle velocity and I can run it on OGL 3.x hardware that has no compute shader nor image store functions (but also uses more memory).

The particles use the position texture in the vertex shader to set the position of each particle, each vertex is rendered as a point with a texture (the texture is/can be animated). You can control the size, weight, texture and lifetime of each particle, but why make things simple? The size and weight are not just start and end values, you have a sin function that controls how these values change over time.