Glow effect on single nodepath

I’m trying to create a glow effect when I select a piece in a 3d board game I’m making. I looked at the bloom filter, but that looks like it puts a glow on everything.

You can tell the bloom filter to only make a certain object glow by using model.setShaderAuto() instead of render.setShaderAuto(). The glow can then be turned off using model.setShaderOff()

Yes, but wouldn’t that make it so that the models that aren’t glowing wouldn’t have any shadows? That is very undesirable.

You’re right, the only thing I can think of to get around that would be to write a custom glow shader that could be applied separately. And that is not necessarily the best option, unless you know how to write your own shaders (which I personally don’t know how to do).

Just use a glowmap on every single node.

Thanks, but, a bit of example code maybe? I’m still a Panda noob.

I think somethink like this:

def loadModel(modelpath, useglow = False):
	model = loader.loadModel(modelpath)

if useglow == False:
		texture = loader.loadTexture('black.png') # a tiny black image
		ts = TextureStage('ts')
		ts.setMode(TextureStage.MGlow)
		model.setTexture(ts, texture)

return model

It would be nice if there was a method in Panda to do this automatically, like

nodepath.disableGlow()

or something, put there isn’t

That functionality does exist, and is in CVS (CMU added it a while ago). Pass a BitMask32 to set_shader_auto indicating which effects you want to enable or disable on that node.

Awesome, but can you post some example code? I’ve really no idea how to get this to work.

To disable glow, but enable everything else:

node.setShaderAuto(BitMask32.allOn() & ~BitMask32.bit(Shader.BitAutoShaderGlow))

To only enable normal mapping and shadow receiving:

node.setShaderAuto(BitMask32.bit(Shader.BitAutoShaderNormal) | BitMask32.bit(Shader.BitAutoShaderShadow))

The API is weird, but there you go.

Oh…
Great,
this doesnt work for me though: