getHpr returning (0,0,0) - lookAt doesn't work

I’m trying to paint a set of blocks with a paint brush and it is important that I can find the Hpr of each block or get lookAt to work so the brush is at the right angle so it looks like it is painting the block.

I’ve flagged individual shapes in my egg file via egg-optchar -flag block1 -flag block2 … etc.

I can find the position for each “block”, but the Hpr is returning (0,0,0).

blockGroup = Actor(...)
blockGroup.reparentTo(render)

paintBrush = Actor(...)
paintBrush.reparentTo(blockGroup)

block1 = blockGroup.find("**/block1")
print block1.getHpr() #returns (0,0,0)
#also tried:
# block1.getHpr(render)
# block1.getHpr(blockGroup)

paintBrush.lookAt(block1)  #does not work
ival = paintBrush.posInterval(...) #pos found via getBounds().getCenter()
ival.loop()

Thanks!

I’m fairly new to Panda so if I’m way off then I’m sorry, but from my experience parenting the paintBrush node to the blockGroup node will give it the same rotation/position/etc as the parent without changing the actual value… if that is really what it is doing. You might have to parent a dummyNode to the blockGroup as a placeholder and then have your paintBrush parented to the dummyNode to allow it free movement.

Thanks.

I do have a dummy setup because my model origin / orientation isn’t correct.

So it more looks like:
Blockgroup <- dummy <- paintbrush.

So block1 is part of blockGroup, does an internal node have an Hpr?

All nodes have a hpr, but I think you are misunderstanding what hpr means. The hpr is the rotation of the node relative to its parent, specified as a three-coordinate tuple in Euler coordinates. It is usually (0,0,0) unless you explicitly set it to something else. Also, it has nothing to do with rotating to point at particular object.