Get the "selected" object.

Hello everyone,

In these past days I’ve though about how I could possibly get the mouse selected object in a game simply.

I’m still quite new to panda, but here is what I though I could do:
-use a collision ray,that points from the 3d camera pos to the 3d mouse pos, and find the “camera-nearest” occurence of collision, though that might be slow with big geometry, I must say I didnt try yet.
-make one of my parallel scenes, with no lights and no textures, a unique color is applied to every object, thus creating a segmentable image,(I think treeform already submitted this idea?) though it might be even slower, since it nearly doubles the drawing time.
-Map all my selectable objects in some 2D array, and find out, with the X,Y of the 3d mouse pos, what object(s) are in the selected “mini-area”, this might be tricky since multiple objects might be really close, thus in the same coordinate of this array.

So, what do you think?
are there better solutions already implemented/created?

Thanks for your time.

i’d go for rays. code should be in the samples and the manual.

Well, after some brief tests and much code reading, the best time I’ve done was with collision ray, though now I’d need either to:
-calculate a collision tube of of the vertices of an object
-or create a collision polygon ,for more precision, (out of the vertices?) with a geomnode.

I didnt find such things on the forum yet, I’ll continue searching, if anyone has code to propose he’s welcome!

https://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Clicking_on_3D_Objects
maybe?

I’m pretty sure you’re going to need to use spheres as the collision solids to wrap around your models. You can always use multiple spheres parented to the model with different positions to approximate the model’s shape if it’s really that important.

Collision rays are optimal for picking one object. If you need to drag select multiple objects- there’s code for this in the code snippets section.