Error MSB6006 "CL.exe" exited with code -1073741515.

Hello!

I am brand new to Panda3D. I am a recent Game and Sim programming graduate. I followed the instructions closely to installing and starting a new project. I am getting the following error in Visual Studio when I try to build:

Error MSB6006 “CL.exe” exited with code -1073741515. Panda3D C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Platforms\x64\Microsoft.Cpp.x64.Targets 146

this is after following the following section of the manual:
https://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php?title=Running_your_Program&language=cxx

I searched Bing and Google and the forum here for this error code and found nothing.

STATS:
Panda3d 1.9.4 64x
Visual Studio 2015 Enterprise
Windows 10

Please include the compiler error messages. The message you included just indicated that a problem occurred. Are there other messages before this one?

It might be easier to grab the Python 3.5/3.6 builds of a development build of Panda 1.10 which are built natively with VS 2015.

Thank you for writing back,

No, this is the only error that appears in the error window. Only this one. I found on other forums that this is because VS15 is not backwards compatible with SDK7.1, and to use toolset V120_XP instead. I tried that but it comes up with:

Error LNK1181 cannot open input file ‘libp3framework.lib’ Panda3D_VS15 C:\Users\Jeremy\Documents\Homework\Practice Programs\Panda3D_VS15\Panda3D_VS15\LINK 1

And that is the only code that is in the error message.

I will look into 1.10, thanks

Don’t use v120_xp toolset, since it doesn’t match what Panda was built with. Only the WindowsSDK7.1 toolset will work if you are using a build of Panda 1.9. If you are using a Python 3 build of Panda 1.10, you can use the v140 or v140_xp toolset, so you could give that a try.

As for the linker error, that suggests that C:\Panda3D-1.9.4\lib wasn’t added to your library directories.