enter the newb...dun, dun-dun...some questions...

hey, i’m new to panda3d, i’ve known about it for a long time though. (the sort of intense guy who pores through feature lists and forums etc.)

i’m do gamemaking as a hobby, and learn new stuff fast when i’m psyched :smiling_imp: , so i decided that i’m going to make a 3d game.

why did i choose panda? mainly, after giving it much thought, i decided that if panda is good enough for disney, its good enough for me, lol. another reason is that i’m into c++, and i guess python wouldn’t go amiss either… :stuck_out_tongue:

looked at a couple of other engines:

-irrlicht (graphics engine, albeit a pretty intense one. doesn’t seem to have a general game framework to go with it, or am i wrong?)

-crystal space (heard alot of negative reviews saying its ‘bloated’. looks quality, but the learning curve is apparently steep. the CELstart thing was slow, and doesn’t package into standalones…)

-nebula device (used to create about 20(?) commercial games by radon labs i think, plus nd3 is in the works, but the lack of support and general hype irks me…)

-zombie engine (fork of nd2, used by tragnarion studios, didn’t seem to work, for my computer anyways…the end.)

-jme (java not my thing.)

so, panda3d all the way. just some questions:

1. how are panda3d’s 2d capabilities, like for HUDs and menus etc?
  2. how about mouse, joystick, game controller, and keyboard input capabilities?
  3. is the blender->panda3d pipeline straightforward?
  4. any limitations of scripting in python? how much control do you lose by using, over using c++?
  5. any limitations of panda3d?
  6. is panda3d slow in any aspects?

cheers…

1. Panda has 2D capabilities. You could even make a 2D game entirely in Panda.
  2. Panda has full support for mouse and keyboard. I believe joystick and controllers too, but most people use pygame for joysticks.
  3. Yep, through the Chicken exporter.