Dynamic shadows?

I’m a Mac developer. I downloaded Hypnos’ p3dapp and the Panda3D samples to get a feel for the engine. It all looks good, but I would really, really like easy-to-use dynamic shadows.

While many of the sample programs run fine, the Tut-Shadow-Mapping sample does not run on my MacBookPro (it immediately quits). I don’t pretend to understand the code fully, but while it seems a little complicated, it’s still within reach. Does anyone know how to get that sample working on a Mac?

I have read that dynamic shadows are high on the developers’ to-do list. Is that statement still true? And does it refer to an overhauled and/or easier dynamic shadow system?

Also, it seems like the Mac is a bit of a second-class citizen for Panda3D, given that there isn’t a binary download, and the (apparent) difficulty people have had in compiling the source for OS X 10.5 – I have not yet tried it myself though. Is my impression wrong? Is the situation likely to change? Believe me, I understand how dependent open source projects are on knowledgeable people stepping forward to help, so don’t take this as criticism.

(By the way, I am currently using Ogre 3D with a homespun, half-baked Objective-C wrapper around the parts of the C++ library I need. While parts of Ogre are complicated, dynamic shadows are dead easy. While I could stick with that system, it’s cumbersome, and I am always looking for better/easier alternatives.)

Thanks for any information.

The bad news is: dynamic shadows were my thing. However, some things have come up and it is unlikely that I will have any substantial amount of time to dedicate to Panda3D in the foreseeable future. So I think you can forget that feature unless somebody decides to take over my role.

The frustrating thing is that it would probably only take three or four days of coding to implement them. But I just don’t have any time.