Dockable windows (2d & 3d)

So I am working on an application which uses panda3d. Its not a game. I need a way to dock/undock windows with the mouse. Ie. Grab a window’s edge, have it pop out, drag it to another screen position and drop/lock it in place. I haven’t found a way to do this yet I am new to this engine. I am a graduating CS student so none of this is beyond me I just haven’t found anything in the documentation for it.

This is actually controlled by the operating system. Can you give an example of such an app?

Unity3d… You mean I couldn’t have one main window/pane where all my other windows are docked to? Is there no way to do that in panda3d?
Or is there some way to render a gui without drawing over a 3d rendering?

In fact, panels and Windows are different concepts. Panda lets you create multiple Windows. Panels must be implemented at the GUI library level, or independently. By the way, unity is not an application, it is a development environment and most likely it is implemented on the WinAPI.

I think–if I understand correctly–that an example of the sort of app that they’re trying to make would be GIMP. By default, it has a window in which image-editing is done, and a separate window that holds the various editing tools and their options, and which can be placed separately from the other window.

As to the question, hmm…

Based on a quick search, it looks like PyQt might be able to do this, and I believe that PyQt can be made to interoperate with Panda.

Otherwise, as suggested above, perhaps you could use various mouse-events to implement GUI-dragging, and furthermore to detect an attempt to drag a GUI-element out of a window. When this happens, you could spawn a new window, containing the GUI element, and then update the position of that window programmatically until the dragging mouse-button is released. Or something like that.