Decoupling game logic from the engine

I’m new to gaming, not programming, and after reading and playing with some sample code in the past few days, I’m very excited to write a new game with panda3D!

I went over and played with the examples, @wolf’s collection, and other resources I could find.
The biggest thing I’m missing is a guideline for the structure (architecture) of the program and the code.
All of the examples I saw are a single long python file, which is wonderful to go over when learning a concept, but not a scalable way to write code.

I’m assuming that the main “world” class will take care of the heavy lifting: initialization, timing, events, and general orchestration, etc., but I’m not sure about the other classes.
For example, I would like to have a separate class for separate “game objects”. What’s a common way to do it? Keep them as Panda3D aware objects, and let them import panda3D packages? I rather have these classes decoupled from panda3D code, and maybe use some proxies to connect them to the world. Somehow I have a feeling that it should be a common practice, but maybe it’s just something that’s already been tested but discarded.

In short, the question is: While Panda3D is the engine of the whole game, is there a good guideline on how to create a good clean architecture that decouples the game logic from it?

I would love to hear your thoughts or look at (preferably recent) code samples that do it.

Thanks!

I think that this is something on which different developers will have different preferences: some might want a high degree of decoupling; some (like me) might not be too bothered; and others may lie in-between.

For a simple example of how I tend to do things, you could take a look at my “beginner’s tutorial”, here: