Creating an installer for my project

Hi

I have some questions about how to create an installer for projects made in Panda3d. I am rather new to both Panda3d and Visual Studio but I have managed to create a Setup Project within Visual Studio and added my executable for my game to the Setup Project. Everything works fine on my computer. However, when I tested this on another computer which doesn’t have Panda3d SDK installed I got an error message when executing:

Error executing on another computer

So my question is how to include that DLL file, and possibly other files needed for the game being able to execute, in the Setup Project. Preferably, I would not like to solve this issue by just installing Panda3d on the other computer because I plan to release this game and would like to make it as simple as possible to get it running!

Sorry if this isn’t the right category to post in.

/Isak

There’s a whole section in the manual on distributing Panda3D applications. It explains how to use Panda’s deployment tool, which automatically includes any required DLLs. As long as you ship all the DLLs it includes with your installer, it should work on any other computer.

I know there is a section about this in the manual but to me it looks like it would only work for Python projects and my code is written in C++. If it is possible, can you explain a little bit more about how to include the Panda3d DLLs and other dependencies in the Setup Project I made in Visual Studio.

/Isak

I see three stages.

1. Compile panda with the necessary plugins for a specific operating system.
  2. Adding your own binaries and resources.
  3. Creating an installer, for example, using NSIS.

I have already made an installer with the Setup Project in Visual Studio so now my question is where I should put the DLLs in the Setup Project and how to do it. I prefer using the Setup Project in Visual Studio and I am only targeting the Windows platform for now. Do I need to compile Panda3d on my own?