create map using panda

Hi, Im very new to game programming. Ive never used a game engine before. I downloaded panda3d and went thru the beginner tutorial where you basically load a scenery of a tree and some grass and rocks and you put a panda in the middle who walks back and forth.

In this tutorial both the panda and the map (is that the correct word for scenery? ) appeared to have been made in a software like blender or 3dsmax and were just imported in as .egg files. What I was wondering is the following - is it possible to draw out scenery within panda3d itself using a python script?

The reason I ask is I wish to make a simulation/game where the scenery changes. For example I want to be able to place trees and houses in different places of the map and then move them to other locations while the game is running. So I dont want the whole scene to be made in blender or 3dsmax, I want to draw it out using python script so I can change it during runtime (crazy as it may sound). In fact I wish to be able to draw even the models such as a house entirely using python script, not make a model of a house in blender and import an .egg file.

So is this possible in Panda3D ? Or does this engine only allow you to place instances of models and scenes made in a software like blender?

If not could you recommend a game engine where this is possible? Or does one have to write directx code to accomplish this?

(PS I realize there is no visual game editor in Panda3d, but I wish to do the drawing using python itself)

Welcome to the Panda3D forums, and happy newyear! :slight_smile:

Of course. You can store all of your models (house, car, tree) separately, load them into Panda, and move/rotate/scale them as you want.
If you need you can even write code to build up every individual polygon.