Copy pre-rendered textures to back buffer?

I am new to Panda3D but not totally new to creating visual stimulation code. I have worked with Matlab and the PsychToolbox for conducting psychophysical experiments for a while. Now I need to get my Panda code running accurately as we are planning to include 3D virtual reality into our lab environment. But for starters I try to get comfortable with 2D.

To my understanding, the fastest way to present a 2D image is to pre-render it into an “offscreen window” (such as a GraphicsBuffer), derive the result e.g. with the getTexture method) and copy it directly onto the back buffer (before igLoop initiates the flip).

This should not be a problem if the GraphicsBuffer and the back buffer share the relevant properties. However, after half a workday of searching the web I haven’t found a single solution for that in Panda3D. Is there any?

I have read about the ‘auto-flip’ option and the possibility to set the render priority below that of ‘renderFrame()’ (i.e. <50, if remember correctly). But I would like to do it in a manual way to be sure my image data is prepared in time and presentation deadlines are reliably met.

Also I would be interested in a way of rendering into a GraphicsBuffer without the necessity of invoking a camera (something like ‘render2d’).

Any help is greatly appreciated, as in parallel I have to familiarize myself with object-oriented programming, which doesn’t make the job easier for me. :wink:

No ideas? Or have I understood much less about Panda than I thought? Anyways, I will put it more simple: