Coordinate confusion

I’m missing something simple here, but I can’t figure it out.

I’ve created 100 “flat” quads/nodes out of GeomTriangles (I know it’s inefficient to render, I’m still learning), each (1,0,1) in size, from (0,0,0) to (9,0,9). I have the following code to position the camera and a point light:

plight = PointLight('plight')
      plight.setColor(VBase4(1, 1, 1, 1))
      plight.setAttenuation(Point3(0, 0, 0.2))
      plnp = render.attachNewNode(plight)
      plnp.setPos(5, 2, 5)
      self.render.setLight(plnp)
      self.camera.setPos(5,-19,5)
      self.camera.setHpr(0,0,0)

What I don’t understand is why the y-axis coordinate has to be positive for the light’s setPos and negative for the camera’s setPos. I would have expected them both to be negative (“out of the screen”) but if I change the light’s y to negative it doesn’t show. Why are they different?

In general, +y is forwards, and -y is backwards.

An object is visible when it is in front of the camera (its y position is greater than the camera’s y position).

Think of the camera as your own eye position. When you move the camera backwards, it is the same thing as moving everything else forwards. Everything you see is relative to the camera’s position.

David

I’m sorry, I still don’t quite get it.

Is this correct with regards to the code I posted, if this line represents the y-axis?

-19 (camera) ----------> 0 (quads) --------> 2 (light)

Why is the light is visible when it uses a positive y-coordinate if the quads (perpendicular to the y-axis) are at 0? Wouldn’t the light then be “behind” the quads (with respect to the camera) at a positive y-coordinate?

Or does moving the camera actually move the other objects in the scene? That would seem very weird to me, and it still wouldn’t explain why I can see the light with a positive y-coordinate…