CollisionHandlerGravity: Horizontal velocity

Is it possible to define a horizontal velocity for the CollisionHandlerGravity? When using this handler with the player character he instantly falls down and no “previous-movement-direction” like a velocity push or something is been made. On this little drawing the right one would be nice to have :slight_smile:

Applying horizontal velocity is not the job of the CollisionHandlerGravity, if you wanted to continue applying the player velocity after the player is no longer making contact with some surface, there is nothing preventing you from doing so.

As I’m still a beginner, what is the best way of doing this? Programmatically setting the player position based on his movement direction isn’t hard, but it would interfere the CollisionHandlerGravity position manipulation I guess … same with a position Lerp if I’m not wrong

As long as you change the X and Y coordinates of the player, that should not interfere with the CollisionHandlerGravity managing their Z coordinate.

1 Like

At the end, I decided to use CollisionHandlerFloor instead of Gravity because of downwards movement.

What I was always wondering: to take the globalClock.dtime between frames into account, is it also viable to add it up? Because multiplying means small numbers which is in a “real world scale scenario” not always nice to have. Is something like this viable?

speed += dt
    def push_player(self, dt):
        '''
        Pushes the player based on his movement velocity
        with intensity shrinking over time
        '''
        self.velocity[0] = max(0, self.velocity[0] - (self.velocity[0] * dt * 1.019))
        self.velocity[1] = max(0, self.velocity[1] - (self.velocity[0] * dt * 1.019))

self.simulate_gravity(dt)

if self.direction == 'forward':
            self.player.set_fluid_y(self.player, self.velocity[1])
        elif self.direction == 'forward-diagonal-left':