Collectible Card Game: Magic the Gathering

Hi, I’m new to Panda3D and I have a project in mind and I intend to do it myself. I’m an experienced brazilian python programmer but I never created a game.

For my first game I will create a complete Magic the Gathering game, including a deck manager, one player solitaire, one player against the AI (which I’m going to implement myself in python) and multiplayer Peer to Peer (no server). I intend to implement a complete game rules enforcement also.

The concept is really simple and for a game, I think it would be one of the simplest types of games to create. It is a simple turn based card game, where you duel with another player. It does not involve physics, collision detection, etc but I intend to implement some special effects like burning cards, glow, cards moving from one place to another, etc.

See below a screenshot of what I intend to have. It is very simple and easy to develop for a game and yet, awesome for people who like Magic the Gathering (The screenshot below is for a XBox game, which does not feature all the game sets):

Well, why am I posting on the forum? It is simple: I’ve been reading the Panda 3D documentation for a week and since I already have strong python development skills, all the dynamics of the game, how am I going to develop the rules enforcement and everything is very clear in my head.

The problem is that I do not know how to create an end-to-end program and what libraries I should use with panda and how these libraries are put together to create a COMPLETE game. How can I create an initial screen with menus? How can I create an options menu? How can I make the user select between the various types of games (1 Player, Multi Player) and then load the chosen game?..