Changing Render Modes in C++

Pardon this extremely basic question. I am just starting out playing with Panda through C++ and was wondering how do I changed the render mode (OGL, DX8, DX9) through the source. I did search around the forum but as I am not sure what I am looking for, did not actually find the way that it is done outside of using Python.

I know it has something to do with the Graphics pipeline, but am trying to translate this to C++.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Exactly the same as you would do in Python.

Something like this:

#include "load_prc_file.h"
load_prc_file_data("", "load-display pandadx9");

Okay, I took the line you gave me and inputted it into the main Cpp I have. I also went ahead and checked the function in the header file. Despite it looking alright to my extremely inexperienced eyes, the inclusion of those two lines yielded this:

Any idea what I’m doing wrong? It compiles alright without that line, and its the code in the Manual.

At this point I’m using VS2008

It might be simpler to change the display mode simply by editing your Config.prc file.

As to the error in question, it looks like you tried to put in a line of executable code outside of any function body. Unlike Python, you can’t simply put a call to a function in the global scope; it has to fall within some function you have already defined, for instance, within main() or some other function that gets executed.

If your C++ experience is not that strong, are you sure you want to be developing an application using C++? Python is a much friendlier language for the beginning as well as the experienced programmer, and probably a better language to use in general, other things being equal. Usually, you would choose C++ over Python only if there were overwhelming factors contributing in C++'s favor, for instance, strong personal experience in C++.

David