Can You ...?

ok here it goes. I’m quite new to Panda and the world of programming graphic filled games. Can you sell games you make with ~Panda3D?

Certainly. The only restrictions on redistribution of Panda3D are listed here:
panda3d.org/license.php

yeah i’ve read it but don’t quite understand. I’m only 13 years old yet i know a lot of different computer language ie: html css php visual basic bit of python bit of c bit of java

No worries, I know lots of younger programmers too. (I’m one myself, being only 16 :wink:)

Soo, there’s no way that I can completely tell you the legalities (as I would be held responsible should someone try to sue you, I can tell you however the basic idea of the license, basically I’m saying I’ll tell you the secret but if you get punched it’s your fault :stuck_out_tongue: hehe)

You can give out the panda3d source code (c++) or binaries (.exe, .dll, .so, etc) as long as you tell users that the official panda3d license is at panda3d.org/license.php (or if you copy the license in to a file and ship it with your game)

Basically saying what I said above, you’ve got to tell the user that you used panda3d and that it’s under an open source license. (found at panda3d.org/license.php)

No posting on your blog that “Disney loves my game!” or saying “Yeah my game was built by Carnegie Mellong University!”
However you can say that your game uses tools developed by Disney or Carnegie Mellong University… (just be careful saying that Disney supports your game about killing other people, or the like :wink:, they will get angry about that)

Panda3d is given to you in an “as-is” state. If you get mental damage or in a car accident or decide to kill yourself because of it, then there is no way that panda3d or anyone who helps build it (Disney, Carnegie Mellong University) will take the blame or pay for your hospital bills.