block world

Hi,

I’m new to panda. I played for a while with pygame and decided that I want to give 3D a shot. So a this moment, I’m still in the learning stage and I need a ‘learningproject’. I stumbled on the internet on a game called ‘Minecraft’ http://www.minecraft.net. (You can try a free version on the website, it’s a browsergame) I found the concept of a world made of blocks very fascinating. It’s great and simple at the same time. I think that it couldn’t be very hard to program a think like this. The world is devides in a 3D array of static blocks. Those blocks can have various types (rock, soil, air, water, wood…) and you’re world change with the type of blocks that change (eg. If you dig soil, the soil block becomes a airblock) Nothing is moving, (so no physics involved) The only thing that moves is you and maybe some other creatures.

What do you guys think, would it be a good ‘project’ to learn the concepts of 3D programming/panda? (off course not as complex as that game ‘minecraft’. let’s stay realistic :smiley: ) I was searching the forums (‘blocks’, ‘cubes’,…) for some example code/approaches but I didn’t find anything useful. Maybe you guys know some simmilar project done in the past with some example code? Or maybe some hints? Some idea to create this ‘world of blocks’?

thanks!

cheers

Hello and welcome to Panda :wink:
Having a previous experience in pyGame will definetly help you to start up but your best friends will be the manual, exemples shipped with panda and the forum.

This is not that hard to implement. you’ll find good collision tutorials in the showcase part of the forum.

why not? Everything is possible but each project takes time.
Apparently, you already have the game idea, pick a small piece of it and give it a try.
Why a small piece ? Because you’ll quickly get confused and tired about creating a game if you start programming on the fly. You need to fix objectives to yourself and follow them.