Blender+Chicken: Flipped normals?

Hello there. I am new to Panda, but not new to 3d engines or game programming.

I am, however, new to both Panda’s art pipeline and to Blender.

Currently I am working on a simple bipedal model to teach me about the basics of Blender, such as UV mapping and bone weighing.

I am a bit stumped, though.

I have successfully exported my UV-mapped model into pview using Chicken, but the normals appear to be flipped. It looks fine in Blender, but is inside-out when viewed in pview.

But if I reverse the normals in Blender, then the model reverses itself during the export process! It looks fine in pview, but is inside-out in Blender.

It’s almost like I have somehow got the winding order reversed in Blender. My model started out as a combination of independent meshes which I duplicated and mirrored to generate the current (combined) mesh, so I fear my mistake lies somewhere in there.

I have tried just having Blender re-calculate the normals (using edit/Ctrl-N), but it results in a mesh that looks fine in Blender but is inside-out in pview.

Anyone have any ideas how I can fix this?

Note: This only applies to my bipedal mesh. If I create, say, a new box as a separate mesh and export it along with my bipedal character, it works fine.

Moderators: Uhhh, I swore I was in the Pipeline folder when I created this topic. Can it please be moved?

hi, welcome to panda.
did you use some mirror-modifier or did you apply some negative scale to the model?

Thanks for the welcome. I am very excited about working with Panda3d, as I love Python so it’s a good fit. :slight_smile:

I just found out that I had a negative scale applied to my object! Doh, that explains why it was acting as if the winding order was reversed. Resetting the scale (and then modifying the mesh to match the orientation I wanted) fixed it.