ARtoolkit fun

Hi everyone,

while i was bored again i thought i might aswell do something “usefull”. so here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJV3DucbErM

source with all nececssary files included can be found here.
http://home.arcor.de/positiveelectron/files/project-files/artoolkit-stickfigure.zip
i only tested it on linux. dunno if you need to change stuff for windows but if someone has windows and can test it and get it to work feel free to post the code-changes.

With approximately 0.6 seconds i could come up with more than 10 very cool or useful things you could do with this. Unfortunately its not in my intrests list, but i know it will make many people very happy to see an open source solution for it.

Just wanted to say.

hah cute! thanks for sharing it

I played with artoolkit as well, but this was a nice idea, well done.

p.s. buy a printer :wink:

ThomasEgi, love your posts.
I’m new to the whole artoolkit and want to know how you would, if you could, replace the camera image with the window from your developed game (say for motion capture within a fictional environment).

That’s easy by just passing a rendered texture to ARToolKit instead of a camera image. But it makes no sense whatsoever ot do that. The whole point of this is to acquire 3D coordinates of a pattern in the real-world - in the virtual world, you’ll already have those coordinates.

hi. i m new to panda.
i precisely wonder how to get the rendered texture out of panda (the whole main window of panda3d in an opengl format) in order to pass it to another opengl application (like an opengl pygame window for ex). What s the command for that ?

That involves rendering the content of the main window to a buffer (setting “window-type” to “offscreen” helps), and then getting the RAM image data via base.win.getTexture().getRamImage(). (or the slower getRamImageAs() for format conversion).

Ok. Thanks for answering.