Actor(warning) How does Panda know the difference between an actor and a static object?

Hello! I’ve been working with Panda3d for a few months now, but I’ve never been able to figure out why I keep getting these errors whenever I use models exported from blender.

Known pipe types:
glxGraphicsPipe
(all display modules loaded.)
:Actor(warning): data/objects/rectangular_prism is not a character!
:Actor(warning): data/objects/rectangular_prism is not a character!
:Actor(warning): data/objects/sphere is not a character!

I thought I’d take a look at panda-model.egg to see if it showed some special flag or tag some sort, but as far as I see there’s nothing that seems immediately obvious.

I even changed the top of the egg file to this, removing and changing information to see if that did anything:
Tex1 {
“maps/panda-model.jpg”
format { rgb }
wrapu { repeat }
wrapv { repeat }
minfilter { linear_mipmap_linear }
magfilter { linear }
}
panda_blah {

blah {
panda_mblah {
panda_mesh.verts

and it’s still recognized as a character, even without specifying the animation that goes along with it. What’s going on here?

Am I correct in guessing that you’re loading these models via the “Actor” interface? That is, something like this:

myModel = Actor("path/to/model")

If so, then I believe that the problem lies with doing it that way: a model loaded as an Actor is presumed by Panda to be an Actor, I believe.

Instead, what I suggest for non-animated objects is to load them using the “loader” interface–something like this:

myModel = loader.loadModel("path/to/model")

(Animated models would still presumably be loaded via the “Actor” interface.)

That said, if I miss my guess above, how are you loading your models?

Actually, I originally loaded it as loader.loadModel(actor_object_data[actor_position]), but I want to transition to using animated models, so all I really want to know is why in the tutorial if I do

self.pandaActor = Actor("models/panda-model")

instead of