A quick 3d World...

Thought this might help some. It’s nothing special… but, basically, I have been a coder for years but never a 3d modeller. Common problem? Dunno.

Anyway, I didn’t want a stock terrain, I wanted something unique. So I did this:

1. Grab L3DT from bundysoft.com/L3DT/ …in my case, got it running under Linux using Wine.

2. Generate terrain using it’s nice interactive designer.

3. Save out the height map and the texture map as images.

4. Bit of Python:

from panda3d.core import GeoMipTerrain

terrain = GeoMipTerrain("worldTerrain")
terrain.setHeightfield("heightmap.jpg")
terrain.setColorMap("colourmap.jpg")
# terrain.setBlockSize(512)
terrain.setBruteforce(True)

root = terrain.getRoot()
# root.reparentTo(render)
# root.setScale(0.5,0.5,0.5)
# root.setPos(0,0,0)
root.setSz(60) # max height

terrain.generate()
root.writeBamFile('gworld.bam')
  1. Run it…out pops your BAM file. bam2egg if you want the egg file etc.

I realise I could just leave the GeoMipTerrain code in place and use in whatever app is being developed. But load times became a problem for me (especially as I was brute-forcing the terrain).

In short, I figure a nice speedy BAM file is much better than generating the terrain on every app execution.

Oh, last thing: for reasons unknown, I found I had to vertically flip the texture map else the GeoMipTerrain was wrong! Anyone else seen this?

Cheers,
~G

Confirmed. I started over with a height/terrain map. I put a white circle on the height map to create a column. A red dot on the terrain map in the exact same position - you’d expect a red top to the column right?

…nope. Not how it comes out. Flip the terrain map vertically and it is correct. A bug?

Tried this on Linux and Windows with same result.

Cheers,
~G

It doesn’t sound like a bug to me; it just sounds like a disagreement between L3DT and GeoMipTerrain as to which is the correct orientation to apply the map.