A few (likely noobish) questions

Background (you can skip this)

Well, before posting my questions, I realized it’s probably better to say some words about my background. I am a Computer Science student, I have started panda3d/python a few days ago, but I have programed things for ROM translations/work for several years, mainly in raw C. I have already coded two “games” (a 3D Pacman and a 3D Enduro), both with C++/OpenGL.
Now I am taking a Computer Graphics Project discipline and the final project is a game, my group and I choose to code a RPG/strategy battle simulator and we picked panda3d as our chosen engine. The game is mainly a 2d-logic grid, where players move, attack and use spells/skills.

Real Questions:

1. I programed the logical grid (by loading a model, getting its size and defining the number of rows and columns and creating a class for this matrix) but still I need to draw the grid, is there any function to draw squares or I do need to use some sort of image or model? Can I make them transparent in any way?
    I wanted to make it like this (but in 3d):

1. Can I program multiple camera tasks and switch then over time?

2. I need to map the squares that must not be drawn because the place is not reachable (such as tall rocks and trees). Have anyone seen a similar problem and can suggest some approach? I thought of using some dummy ball and go around the model with it and check collision, but I’m not sure if I would be able to detect very big objects like this.

Thanks in advance and sorry if those are too basic questions.

let’s see if I can help you: =)

1. I guess panda does not have a function for drawing a basic plane, you might have to load your own model and apply textures. Yes, you can apply transparency, look at:

panda3d.org/manual/index.php/C … te_Changes
panda3d.org/manual/index.php/T … d_Blending