3ds max 9 -> egg -> Panda3D without textures.

Hi all,

I’m new in the forum so I don’t know if this post is correcty located… hope so!

I’m new in Panda3D too so my question is very simple:

I have a 3ds max 9 model and I have exported with the exporter plugin that came with Panda3D 1.7 but… [color=red]where are the materials (textures)??

Please, could anybody explain me how to get the .egg with textures?? ([color=red]detailed please, don’t forget that I’m noobie =)!)

Hello from Spain =)!

Have looked at this?
panda3d.org/manual/index.php/C … Studio_Max

Using a standard material put your textures in the slots:

Diffuse Slot = Color

Bump Slot = Normal

Self-Illumination Slot = Glow

Specular Color Slot = Gloss

Opacity Slot = Modulate

Other material properties (ambient, diffuse,specular color, opacity %, specular level, glossiness, wire or 2-sided flag etc.)don’t get exported. Some versions of the plugin didn’t export vertex colour.

Oh… and have you moved your models after exporting them? It might be just that the path to the textures changed (they are relative).

Yes, I have looked at that and I could “install” the plugin in 3ds Max 9 and export my model but without textures. I didn’t understand that tutorial at all 'cause I’m Spanish and my English is limited…

Please, could you explain me more detailed how I put that options??

I’ll try your solution then and feedback.

Thanks!! =)

Please, answer me, I need help!! =(…

There are usually two different reasons that textures are not found after conversion.

(1) They were not properly applied in the Max file. Not all texture modes can be converted to Panda (or any other 3-D engine). In particular, make sure the textures are UV-mapped.

(2) The textures were, in fact, converted, but the paths are incorrect. Open your egg file with a text file. Does it begin with a number of entries? If so, check that the filename given for each entry is correct.

David

Thanks a lot, I get nearly what I wanted!!