3D reconstruction using section images

Hi everyone, I’m quite new to Panda3D and I have just started to work for for a medical company. They need me to implement an application that needs to be able to recontruct a jaw in 3D from the DICOM image files of the jaw’s sections. So, I’m wondering if that kind of application can be done with panda3D/python, and I would need to be in real time so we can move the camera and interact with the 3D model. What do you think, would it be possible?

Thanks!

Could you post a few section pics so we can get an some idea on how to do it?

It should be quite posible techicaly, though you are going to need some skills to pull it off.

Or just pay me to do it. :slight_smile: (Just kidding!)

Hi

Panda can build a terrain mesh from image files, you may be able to use that feature to do what you want.
See the manual pages starting at:
http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Terrain

If I get it right, we are talking about a series of cross-sections.

The easy way would be to make a series of planes, and but every image on it. The only hard part would be adding alpha to the images.

Here’s a mock-up(I’ve used the images as alpha and colour so it’s ghost-like):

and the model + textures:
sendspace.com/file/jpzsbj

But this is just a visualization, It’s not a real 3d model. I think making a model from a series of 2d images is not something out-of-the-box for Panda3D.

It would not be very hard to use PIL to create alpha maps based open the data.

thx people, what I need is a 3D model, not a bunch of alpha planes, so I can’t do it that way. But thanks for all the help and putting the images and stuff. I’ll try to look up on the terrain generation manuals to find some clue if I can really take advantage from that. :slight_smile:

Its is posible to do what your talking about, its just very, very hard.

If you could post some images I will see what I can do.