Those dear shaders

Good day everyone.

Still working on my first 3D game, I just finished most of the logical and level editing parts.

However. I have a few graphical features that I need to implement. I have absolutely no idea how: I believe it might be done using shaders. But I have no knowledge of shaders whatsoever, despite spending the past two days studying them I still have no idea what kind of sorcery make them work.

Here are the three features I need to implement:

-> Outlining several models with red or green lines,

-> Lighting with ambiant, directional, spot and point lights.

-> A more complicated thing: a screenshot will explain it better:
http://livingwithanerd.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/fallout-2-screenshot.jpg
The walls around the playing characters are fading out. I need to implement this as well.

So, what do you think ?
Do you have any solutions for those that don’t imply using a shader ? What would they be ?

And most of all. Knowing that I have never worked with shaders, and that I am bad at math (and really really really bad at geometry: I stopped understanding anything after Pythagore).
Knowing that, is there a way I will ever be able to implement shaders for those features ?

Phew, quite a few questions.

Panda ATM only supports outlines rendering for the whole scene.
But colored and selective outlines was done once by a community member. You can read about it here: [Cartoon Painter)

For lighting you’ll need to be a bit more specific. What do you need that is not described here?: panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Lighting

The looking through walls thing could be solved in several ways. The first that comes to my mind is rendering the wall into a separate layer, using a stencil map for cutting out a circle and combining it with the rest of the scene.

For the shaders issue: you’ll need quite a solid understanding of some linear algebra at least.