Python or C++ ?

Hello.
My nick is Cyanide. I’m from Turkey. My Turkish name is " Yağız ". I’m DxStudio and 3DGS expert user. I heard the new Panda3D engine.
I wanted to try. Very nice engine.

Pyhton is Good ?
Or C++ ?
Which is better?

( My English is Weak :C )

hi, and welcome to panda3d

panda was designed to be used with python. so python is the choice of language when it comes to panda.
if you are an experienced c++ coder you can use c++,too. but i recommoned python. there are many benefits provided by python,including fast prototyping, easy to learn and use.
speedwise it makes almost no difference since panda itself is already c++.

Thank You :slight_smile:

I’m a professional c++ user but it’s easier Pyhton arrived. :slight_smile:
I’ll ask a few more questions. :slight_smile:
Where is world editor ?
3ds files export to panda ?

for now there is no world editor.
there is a scene editor in development, it’s not finished but i think you can find information about it here on the forum.
for creating worlds you can use 3dsmax,maya, blender or any other modeling package.

for the 3dsmax exporter see the section in the manual.
http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Converting_from_3D_Studio_Max

Thank you very much.

This thread needs some c++ proselytism.

If you are a c++ pro as you say, you may find Panda3D in c++ very nice. The only problem is that not everything is documented in c++. That hasn’t been a problem for me so far, because the forums are very helpful when I need to do something in c++ and I can’t find how. So, when you are using c++ it takes a little more to find out how to do stuff. Work is being done in this sense and soon the c++ part of the documentation will be complete. In the meantime you’ll find that you can just read the python part and translate it, like:

Item.SetText(‘hey’) to item->set_text(“hey”);

Everything is very similar.