some criticism about the manual and the site generally

hi,
i’m currently studying the panda3d manual and i’m really confused, not least because of the chapters’ order: maybe there is a logically reason, why things like rigid bodies come before the lesson which explains how to load a model, or why the configuration file is discussed so early and the compilation process nearly at the end, but it’s irresolutable for a newbie and really hard to come along with, than with a linear and focused tutorial:cry:.

so here my suggestions:
most probably it would be too expensive to rewrite the whole wiki/manual, so how about a collection of chosen snippets for a quickstart or another for all the theory stuff?
user contributed stuff should be merged. currently that are points I. G. & I. H… also some of these contents are outdated (the disney videos are about 5 years old!). on projects like gimp or blender you could observe the decentralizatiion fenomenon - it’s hard to get all usable stuff onto one place, but maybe an officially supported UCC (user contributed content) centre would help. in case of blender, they now have a wiki containing everything they could find and tons of links to tuts and stuff and also they have a kind of inofficial manual on wikibooks.org. i think for stuff like tuts and step&step-manuals a wiki is much better than a forum or a strictly-structured manual-wiki (like the one we have currently)
the manual needs more tiny examples. dry theory surely isn’t that motivating.
we need more graphics! just some simple small pictures beside some chapters would let it look more like a game engine instructions, than an assembler reference… after all most panda users are students.

that’s all for the moment, i think, to the man-pages.
now something about the site, forum etc.:
please stop showing those shiny pictures of the colossus clone or the pirates game. show me the source code, or i have no reason believing that’s made with panda3d!