Installation issues.

Hey guys, I’ve been trying to get this working for a couple of hours now and I’m honestly at my wit’s end :stuck_out_tongue: I’m almost a complete newb to python, but I do have a bit of general Linux experience, as well as bits of C/C++. I’m running Slackware 10.0 with python 2.4.1.

I’ve downloaded panda3d-1.0.4.tar.gz (Linux source code), and I ran makepanda.py in makepanda. After a compile, I set my PATH to build/bin, and my PYTHONPATH to direct/src/showbase. When I try running the first test program, this is what I get (file paths have been reduced to make it a little more readable):

ppython Tut-Step-1-Blank-Window.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Tut-Step-1-Blank-Window.py”, line 11, in ?
import direct.directbase.DirectStart
File “panda3d-1.0.4/built/direct/…/…/direct/src/directbase/DirectStart.py”, line 3, in ?
from direct.showbase import ShowBase
File “panda3d-1.0.4/built/direct/…/…/direct/src/showbase/ShowBase.py”, line 6, in ?
from pandac.PandaModules import *
ImportError: No module named pandac.PandaModules

This just seems like Python can’t find the proper modules, but I thought I had set the PYTHONPATH correctly.

Any help would be much appreciated…Thanks in advance :smiley:

That’s odd. ‘ppython’ is really just a program that sets ‘PYTHONPATH’ for you (and then it runs python). You shouldn’t have to set PYTHONPATH manually. Somehow, ppython must be blowing it. Try this experiment:

% ppython
Python 2.2.3 (#42, May 30 2003, 18:12:08) [MSC 32 bit (Intel)] on win32
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

import sys
sys.path

It should print out the python path (in a slightly different form). Post the output here. See if it includes your ‘built’ directory. If not, then something’s wrong.