Panda3D on Mac from p3dapp

Hi all,

I have been searching for a way to use Panda3D on my Macbook Pro running Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard and found one today. This method should work, I guess, on 10.4 if you install Python 2.4 as noted in the last part. I am new to Panda3D and was simply looking to experiment. Since there is not a lot of information about getting things to work under OS X I thought I would post how I did it.

All credit for the hard work it took to actually get things working by patching and compiling must go to Hypnos (and others?). All I did was move things to where it was easy to run the samples on my system.

The end result of all this is an install of Panda3D that is available for general system use (or to your user, depending on where you put the frameworks).

Hypnos’ thread on his OS X application bundle is below for reference. If you’re going to distribute a Panda3D application, you should probably stick with the bundle he’s made. My method is more for learning and easily running tutorials.
discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic.php … highlight=

First, download p3dapp from here (I got 0.7):
public.nouser.org/~rspoerri/Deve … ts/p3dapp/

Open that DMG file, revealing the p3dapp application bundle. Right click or Ctrl click and select ‘Show Package Contents’ from the menu. Open another finder window and select ‘Go To Folder…’ from the ‘Go’ menu. Type in ‘/usr/local’ without the quotes and click Go. If you get ‘the folder cannot be found’, open the Terminal and create it with ‘sudo mkdir /usr/local’.