how did you learn python?

Hi I’m new here (first post). I know this topic comes up a lot, and I’ve looked at the “getting started for absolute beginner” topics and read through most of the manual to see all the wonderful things you can do. Unfortunately I am not a programmer (yet) but an artist. A sample of my work in Maya, based on a character from Namco’s Klonoa:

After viewing the videos about the scene editor, it seems to me it could really help people who are just starting out and don’t know all the coding rules, if not to build something useful at least to get started. Unfortunately it appears the scene editor is not supported anymore / was never supported.

So I am wondering, how did you guys learn python? If you were already familiar with programming, how did you first get started? I’m interested in building a small idea into a prototype level.

I figure I will start small by loading a character on a simple grid and map the controls to w,a,s,d. BUT! I want to do a game level where you can walk around, enter into/out of rooms fighting monsters with a sword (think Zelda). This will also require a HUD for things like health and items (which I guess will use aspect2d but the documentation doesn’t make it very clear how to use it). For example, how do you store certain information in the background, such as current health or what items have been collected?

Anyway, please give me whatever advice you think will help out someone who is interested in learning how to code in python and getting into panda3d.

edit: Also, I have tried using the exporter for maya2egg8 (using Maya 8 ), and it seems to work but no .egg file is actually generated. If I launch the preview after export, a blank (gray) panda window opens. ?? Any advice on how to export models from maya…

welcome to panda :slight_smile:

for exporting and most of your questions… please read the topics in the manual.
http://panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Main_Page