Creating a game with Zelda graphics - what would it take?

Hello, this is mostly to fullfill my curiosity, because I am just a beginner. I would love to know what would it take to create a game, using Panda3D, with graphics like those in the new Zelda game. An example:

media.wii.ign.com/media/748/7485 … 14389.html

Or like in ICO:

media.ps2.ign.com/media/014/0148 … 84908.html

I know this is impossible to do without experience, but I would just like to know. I would like to create these vast, mysterious, beautiful, breathtaking landscape, but I have no idea from where one would start (look at my other topic). Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with a newbie!

i already had an eye on this game earlyer… about a few weeks ago. the technique i described in the “MUD->MORPG” thread was aimed to create landscapes similar to the one you can see (the reason why i made it so complicated is because a MMORPG need a very large world … but grafic-quality would be the same)

well what you need.hmm…
a few good textures you can use (or someone who can paint them :slight_smile:).
for terrain i’d say you need about 4 base-textures you can later use to create transitions like grass-cliff or grass-road or whatever.

then you need a modelling package like max,maya or blender which allow you to preview to model and preview the actual world ( i notived blenders game engine is pretty handy when doing previews, it’s close to panda’s results and you can start it with a single button (even if its just a still frame))

well if you add a additoinal texture to all objects using world-coordinates a texture input you can create nice shadows from the clouds above.

if you add some small shaders to blur the objects in the far distance and a bloom shader (well later is pretty easy to do) you are already pretty close to the original zelda grafics.

and of course you need a few day’s off to put everything together =)
oh jeah… for the characters… you need someone with a talent :stuck_out_tongue:.